call 1800 654 301
COPD. Online. Patient. Education.

What is the respiratory (or breathing) system?

The respiratory system includes the upper and lower respiratory tract. The upper respiratory tract consists of: 

  • The nose and nasal cavity.
  • The throat (pharynx).
  • The voice box (larynx).


The lower respiratory tract consists of:

  • The windpipe (trachea).
  • Breathing tubes (bronchi and bronchioles).
  • Air sacs (alveoli).